How a Ladyboy stole my purse in Cambodia

I have a new wallet, made in Cambodia.

My old wallet is now in the hands of 2 Cambodian ladyboys.

phnompenh elefantengeldbeutel

elephant wallet, made in Cambodia

Phnom Penh on a tuesday at 10:30 pm. Our bus from Laos stops in the capital of Cambodia. The passengers are tired and hungry. We can barely get out, because a dozen tuk-tuk drivers behave as if it’s feeding time in the lion’s den.

Am I still in Southeast Asia,
or did the bus go to India?

They make a sally of my friend, tuk-tuk, Sir, Laaa-dy and guesthouse, cheap cheap. I get an allergic shock. Pushy tuk-tuk drivers are a nightmare.

I grab my backpack and try my luck on my own two feet. A motorbike taxi driver is following me, but gives up soon. This white man is walking!

phnompenh tuktuk

Cambodian Tuktuk

Unfortunately, the bus dumped us, 5 hours late and more than 5 km from the center of Phnom Penh. Oh boy! I hobble into the night, with my broken toe.

The streets are brightly lit and several motorbikes are driving by. A Cambodian is standing there, some street corners along. I can’t believe my eyes, he is a ladyboy. He asks in a woman’s voice “Where are you going?”.

If I wasn’t in Asia,
then I’d be worried now!

I think “beat it!” and say “no, thank you!”. He asks on “Are you all alone”, now with man’s voice. I mumble nonsense and hobble on. A cloud of cheap woman’s perfume blows after me.

phnompenh kambodscha

Cambodia is situated in Asia, isn't it?

At a gas station, I am happy to discover an ATM without handling fees. Cambodians apparently pay with US Dollars, rather than with their own currency. How much money do I need for a week inUS Dollar country?

I put 150 freshly printed Dollars to another 20 Dollars in my wallet. I will distribute the money to my money belt and money pouch in the hostel. Theft protection is important, is what they say. I wasn’t born yesterday!

Am I still in Asia
or in US Dollar country?

About 10 motorbike taxis honked and blared at me during an hour of walking. That’s a new record. Not even Indians are so annoying. Fortunately, I will soon arrive at the cheapest hostels in Phnom Penh, near a filled up lake.

phnompenh charming2

Phnom Penh, the charming city?

Another motorbike driver honks behind me and demands to know, where I am going. I wave him off wearily, when a cloud of cheap woman’s perfume engulfs me. I look around. To my surprise, it is the ladyboy.

He stays, where he is, sitting on his motorbike. I limp on, down the Monivong Boulevard. I’m now on the main street of Phnom Penh, which is still moderately busy at 11:30 pm. Someone approaches from the other side of the road. It’s another ladyboy.

Am I still in Asia,
or in Absurdistan?

What am I supposed to do? I haven’t had much exposure to pushy people since India. In India, you learn to ignore pushy Indians and they will stop after a while. So, I better pay no attention to the second ladyboy!

phnompenh pistole

no violence in Phnom Penh?

Ladyboy 2 grabs my balls. I push into empty space. He runs away. I watch stupefied. He runs further away. I touch my pants. He is at the motorbike. My wallet is missing. The Ladyboys go full throttle. I cry out in disbelief “No!”. The passing motorbike drivers, look at me concerned.

Am I still in Asia,
or in the wild west?

2 days later I have calmed down. At breakfast, I meet a Dutchman. He is devastated. Last night he was robbed. Phnom Penh is supposedly notorious for crime.

He was drunk in a bar, when a ladyboy took all his valuables. His wallet is gone and so is his jewelry, his cell phone and his credit card. He has had enough of Asia and wants to fly home.

phnompenh bars

Bars in Phnom Penh

I don’t want to fly home. I am only missing a passport photo, some business cards and lots of dollars. But I want to be more cautious. Actually,I didn’t want to employ undue mistrust until America.

Am I still in safe Asia,
or already in criminal America?

After 9 months in Asia without any such incident, I felt like the Kakapo parrot. In his native island of New Zealand, there were originally no predators. Then the Europeans came with cats, dogs and rats.

The parrot was never introduced to the social conventions between predator and prey. It didn’t know, that the proper response to an attack is to flee. Rather, the flightless bird stood still and let the predators eat him.

There are only 126 Kakapos left.
I won’t stand still next time…

phnompenh kakapo

Kakapo Papagei - by Mnolf (CC-BY-SA-3.0)

cover3d_100_240

Hol Dir Dein kostenloses Buch
Plus: Tipps und Email Updates

* Kein Spam, Kein Schmarrn

Antworten

Wie mir in Kambodscha ein Ladyboy den Geldbeutel geklaut hat

Ich habe einen neuen Geldbeutel, made in Cambodia.

Mein alter Geldbeutel ist jetzt in den Händen von 2 kambodschanischen Ladyboys.

Elefantengeldbeutel, made in Cambodia

Phnom Penh an einem Dienstag um 22:30 Uhr. Unser Reisebus aus Laos hält in der Hauptstadt von Kambodscha. Die Fahrgäste sind müde und hungrig. Wir können kaum aussteigen, weil sich ein Dutzend Tuktuk Fahrer benehmen, wie bei der Raubtierfütterung.

Bin ich noch in Südostasien,
oder ist der Bus nach Indien gefahren?

Sie lassen eine Tirade los von my friend, tuk-tuk, Sir, Laaa-dy und guesthouse, cheap cheap. Ich bekomme einen allergischen Schock. Aufdringliche Tuktukfahrer sind ein Alptraum.

Ich ergreife meinen Rucksack und versuche mein Glück zu Fuss. Ein Mofataxifahrer verfolgt mich, gibt aber bald auf. Dieser weisse Mann läuft!

kambodschanisches Tuktuk

Leider hat uns der Bus, mit 5 Stunden Verspätung und mehr als 5 km außerhalb des Zentrums von Phnom Penh abgesetzt. Au weia! Ich humpele mit meinem gebrochenen Zeh in die Nacht hinein.

Die Strassen sind hell beleuchtet und einige Mofas fahren vorbei. Ein paar Strassenecken weiter, steht ein Kambodschaner. Ich traue meinen Augen kaum, es ist ein Ladyboy. Er fragt mit Frauenstimme “Wo willst du hin?”.

Wäre ich nicht in Asien,
dann wäre ich jetzt beunruhigt!

Ich denke “hau ab!” und sage “nein, danke”. Er fragt weiter “Bist du ganz alleine”, jetzt mit Männerstimme. Ich murmele Unsinn und humpele weiter. Eine Wolke billiges Frauenparfüm zieht mir nach.

Kambodscha liegt in Asien, oder?

An einer Tankstelle freue ich mich über einen Geldautomaten ohne Gebühren. Kambodschaner zahlen anscheinend mit US Dollar, statt mit ihrer eigenen Währung. Wieviel Geld braucht man für eine Woche in diesem US Dollarland?

Ich stecke 150 druckfrische Dollar zu weiteren 20 Dollar in meinen Geldbeutel. Im Hostel werde ich das Geld auf Geldgürtel und Geldtasche verteilen. Diebstahlschutz ist wichtig, sagt man. Ich bin ja nicht von gestern!

Bin ich noch in Asien
oder im US Dollarland?

Ungefähr 10 Mofataxis haben mich in einer Stunde Laufzeit angehupt und angeplärrt. Das ist Rekord. Selbst Inder sind nicht so nervig. Zum Glück bin ich bald angekommen bei den billigsten Hostels von Phnom Penh, an einem ausgepumpten See.

Phnom Penh, die bezaubernde Stadt?

Ein weiterer Mofa Fahrer hupt hinter mir und verlangt zu wissen, wo ich hin will. Ich winke müde ab, als mich eine Wolke billiges Frauenparfüm einhüllt. Ich schaue mich überrascht um und sehe den Ladyboy.

Er bleibt auf seinem Mofa sitzen. Ich hinke weiter den Monivong Boulevard hinunter. Ich bin jetzt auf der Hauptstrasse von Phnom Penh, die um 23:30 Uhr noch recht befahren ist. Von der anderen Strassenseite nähert sich jemand. Es ist ein weiterer Ladyboy.

Bin ich noch in Asien,
oder in Absurdistan?

Was soll ich tun? Ich hatte seit Indien nur wenig mit aufdringlichen Menschen zu tun. In Indien lernt man, dass man aufdringliche Inder ignorieren muss, dann hören sie nach einer Weile auf. Also, am Besten ich beachte den zweiten Ladyboy gar nicht.

keine Gewalt in Phnom Penh?

Ladyboy 2 greift mir an die Eier. Ich schubse ins Leere. Er rennt weg. Ich schaue verblüfft. Er rennt weiter weg. Ich betaste meine Hose. Er ist beim Mofa. Mein Geldbeutel fehlt. Die Ladyboys geben Gas. Ich rufe fassungslos “Nein!”. Einige vorbeifahrende Mofafahrer schauen mich besorgt an.

Bin ich noch in Asien,
oder im wilden Westen?

2 Tage später habe ich mich beruhigt. Beim Frühstück treffe ich einen Holländer. Er ist am Boden zerstört. Letzte Nacht wurde er ausgeraubt. Phnom Penh ist angeblich berüchtigt für Kriminalität.

Er war betrunken in einer Bar, als ihm ein Ladyboy in alle seine Wertsachen abgenommen hat. Sein Geldbeutel ist weg und ebenso sein Schmuck, sein Handy und seine Kreditkarte. Er hat genug von Asien und will heimfliegen.

Bars in Phnom Penh

Ich will nicht heimfliegen. Ich vermisse nur ein Passfoto, einige Visitenkarten und viele Dollar. Aber vorsichtiger will ich sein. Mit übertriebenem Argwohn wollte ich eigentlich bis Amerika warten.

Bin ich noch im sicheren Asien,
oder schon im kriminellen Amerika?

Nach 9 Monaten in Asien, ohne vergleichbaren Zwischenfall, fühlte ich mich wie ein Kakapo-Papagei. In dessen Heimat Neuseeland gab es ursprünglich keine Raubtiere. Dann kamen die Europäer mit Katzen, Hunden und Ratten.

Der Papagei wurde niemals in die sozialen Konventionen zwischen Räuber und Beute eingeführt. Er wusste nicht, dass die angemessene Reaktion auf einen Angriff die Flucht ist. Der fluglose Vogel hielt einfach nur still und liess sich fressen.

Es gibt heute noch 126 Kakapos.
Noch einmal halte ich nicht still…

Kakapo Papagei - by Mnolf (CC-BY-SA-3.0)

 

cover3d_100_240

Flugschnäppchen Newsletter
Plus: gratis Reise-Bildband

* Kein Spam, Kein Schmarrn

Antworten